banner ad

Unity Schools Closure: FGGC Bauchi Set to Receive Transferred Students, Says …

| March 12, 2014 More

The Federal Government Girls College, Bauchi, has completed arrangements to receive students of other Federal Unity Colleges that are to move to the school.

The Principal of the college, Hajiya Aisha Sheji, told the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) in Bauchi on Tuesday that they had made contingency plans in respect of classroom and hostel accommodation in anticipation of the transferred students.

“When we heard the news of the closure of some schools and plans to transfer affected students, we decided to make little arrangement, such as the adjustment of classrooms and hostel accommodation, in case some are posted to this school.

“We are ready to receive them if some of them are posted to our school,” she said.

The Coordinating Officer, Inspectorate Unit, Federal Ministry of Education, Bauchi State office, Alhaji Mohammed Abdullahi, told NAN on Tuesday, that they were still awaiting the directives of the Federal Government regarding students moving to Federal Government Girls College, Bauchi and Federal Government College, Azare in Bauchi State.

Also speaking to NAN, the Co’ordinating Officer, Inspectorate Unit, Federal Ministry of Education, Gombe State Office, Mrs Odeleye, said adequate arrangements are set to receive students transferred to Federal Government College, Billiri, and Federal Government Girls College, Bajoga, in Gombe State.

She said that so far, three students from one of the closed schools, FGGC Monguno in Borno, had reported in FGC Billiri and FGGC Bajoga.

NAN recalls that the federal government had recently announced the closure of some Federal Unity Colleges and the transfer of the students to other schools, because of the security challenges.

The measure was sequel to the attack on FGC Buni-Yadi in Yobe, by suspected insurgents, resulting in the destruction of the school and the killing of no fewer than 29 students.

The closed schools, considered located in high-risk areas, includes Federal Government Girls College, Monguno and Federal Science Technical College, Lassa in Borno; Federal Science Technical College, Michika in Adamawa; Federal Government Girls College, Potiskum and the Federal Government College, Buni Yadi in Yobe. (NAN)

Category: Bauchi State News

Comments are closed.