banner ad

Jonathan swears in FCC members, 2 perm secs

| January 31, 2013 More

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

PRESIDENT Goodluck Jonathan, on Wednesday, swore in seven members of the Federal Character Commission (FCC), a member of the Federal Civil Service Commission and two permanent secretaries, with an assurance that there would be equity and fairness in federal appointments under his administration.

Those sworn in were Mr Uche Romanus (Imo); former Speaker of Benue State House of Assembly and the first female speaker in Nigeria and West Africa, Dr Margaret Icheen and former member of the House of Representatives from Bayelsa, Mr Clement Agie.

Others were former Commissioner for Information, Nasarawa State, Mr Alakayi Mamman; former Commissioner for Commerce and Industry, Bauchi State, Alhaji Yerima Giade; Dr Salihu Bello from Adamawa and Alhaji Addo Ahmed, Jigawa.

Also taking the oath of office were Dr Clement Ilo (Delta) and Dr Jemila Suara (Edo State), who were sworn in as federal permanent secretaries, while Alhaji Hassan Soko-Dabo (FCT) was sworn in as member of the Federal Civil Service Commission.

Performing the ceremony before the commencement of the Federal Executive Council (FEC) meeting, at the Presidential Villa, President Jonathan noted that all the geopolitical zones in the country were complaining of being marginalised in appointments in the Federal Civil Service, adding that the delay in filling vacancies in federal positions was to ensure complaints already received about marginalisation were properly addressed.

According to the president, “we are in an era where all the geopolitical zones complain about marginalisation. All the geopolitical zones complain that they are not given appointments. In fact, we have some pending appointments because of that.”

Category: Bauchi State News

Comments are closed.